Tag: celiac

What type of alcoholic beverages is suitable for coeliacs?

 TAGS:undefined

The number of celiacs is increasing. The information on this disease and food and drink they can eat and drink is also increasing. It is no longer a difficult task trying to figure out which products contain gluten. According to the Federation of Associations of Celiacs of Spain, FACE, celiac disease (CD) is the permanent intolerance to gluten in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. It is believed that one can be genetically predisposed for the intolerance. It is characterized by an inflammatory reaction, immune-based, in the small intestinal mucous that hinders the absorption of macro- and micronutrients.

Many celiacs wonder if they can drink alcohol, and the truth is yes, but not all types. Firstly, it is important to note that beer is made from barley, therefore it can not be included in a celiac diet, as well as certain types of whisky.

Some beers can be consumed by celiac patients because they are made from rice or buckwheat. And, also, on certain occasions, both barley and wheat can be part of the production of whisky.

People who suffer this disease can drink many other spirits, such as vodka, tequila, rum and gin, even though the ingredients contain gluten, because it is lost in the distillation process. In all cases, one better make sure before consumption, look at the labels and ask your doctor or nutritionist if you are not completely sure.

Wine is also among the alcoholic beverages you can drink as a celiac. None are made with ingredients containing gluten, and wine also offers many benefits for the body. But on rare occasions when the wine is stored in a container which also has previously stored products containing gluten, cross-contamination can occur.

One can also drink cider as a celiac patient, for it is an alcoholic beverage produced by  the fermentation of apples, and these are gluten free.

If you want to know more, do not miss our article on gluten-free cocktails.

 TAGS:Bombay Sapphire 47% 1LBombay Sapphire 47% 1L

Bombay Sapphire 47% 1L: a London Dry with origins in England with an alcohol strength of 47%.

 

 

 TAGS:Mom God Save The GinMom God Save The Gin

Mom God Save The Gin: is made by González Byass from England with an alcohol content of 39,5%. 

 

The rise of gluten free beers

 TAGS:undefined

The brewing industry is experiencing a revolution worldwide. However, the industry has not taken into account celiac patients until now. Because of their intolerance to gluten, previously they couldn’t enjoy a good beer. Today, the brewing industry, driven by craft brewers, has been sensitized and are responding to the demands of people with celiac disease. They now offer beers suitable for celiacs.

The cereal most commonly used in the brewing industry is barley, but they also use some other cereals such as wheat. These cereals have gliadin, a protein compound responsible for celiac disease, people who can not tolerate gluten. However, just as there are non-alcoholic beer, it is also possible to prepare gluten-free beers.

More and more variety of choices: beer without gluten, gluten-free beers without alcohol or craft beer without gluten.

There are 2 types of beer without gluten:

  • Beers made with gluten free grains like buckwheat, sorghum, millet and quinoa.
  • Beer made from grains that do have gluten as barley or wheat, but the final product has a gluten content below 20 ppm needed to classify as gluten, which is achieved by an enzymatic process.

With regards to this process, it begins in the malting, a technique that prepares the grain for cooking, where the grain germinates the future beer before roasting and later adding the ingredients that transform the wort into beer. This whole process goes through different phases in which certain enzymes are responsible for separating the gluten proteins of the final beer.

Luckily, references in the market are not in lack: Beers Ambar, with Ambar Celíacos has received European certification ELS, which in Spain grants the Federation of Celiac Associations (FACE), becoming the first and only gluten-free beer in the Spanish market. Ambar Green is also the first beer suitable for celiacs in the world without alcohol. Of course, there are many other national and international breweries that have opted for this type of beer: Estrella Damm (with Daura), the English St. Peter’s or Daas Belgian and Brunehaut.